Small Bowel Stricture

Standard

Well I’ve been mentioning on here about having the stomach pain.  The other night, I had such bad pain I thought either a heart attack or my appendix was going to burst.

The next day I was so exhausted I slept for 12 hours!  I even slept that night again, but kept waking up to sharp pains in my stomach. 

Yesterday, my social service worker who is also a nurse came by to check on me.  We share the same family doctor, so she stopped by to make me an appointment.  Kathy, the secretary, also has Crohn’s Disease.  She suggested I better go to the hospital. 

So my Grams took me in, and a G I Surgen came down from Kingston to see me.  He is pretty sure I have a small bowel stricture.  I got booked right then to see the G I team in Belleville to get a small bowel x-ray done.  You drink this gross stuff that makes me throw up, and then you get x-ray pictures of it going into the small intestine to watch for a blockage.  If this is for sure what it is, then I have to go in for surgery to get it fixed.

He told me to pick up, Ovol, a baby gas pain reliever that you take in drops.  It is not helping with the pain at all.  I’ve tried, but haven’t been able to eat in a few days, can’t even stomach coffee.  Only water.  I can’t move around and do much bc I end up on the floor in pain almost throwing up.  I just have to deal with it until I find out for sure this is what’s happening, then wait for the surgery.  I’m in so much pain, I feel like another day of this is impossible.

Anyway, I won’t be around until this is fixed bc I just can’t handle not being on the couch. 

Ash,

Leave a Reply

