Going to Columbia

Jan26 004As many of my friends and family have seen on facebook, my post about going to Columbia for two months.  I’m not actually going.  It’s one of those weird facebook e-mail chains between women to raise awareness about breast cancer.  Which doesn’t make a whole lot of sense, if no one is supposed to know what it means… how is that raising any awareness?  E-mail as follows :

Ok pretty ladies, it is that time of year again…support of breast cancer awareness!So we all remember last year’s game of writing your bra colour as your status? Or the way we like to have our handbag handy? Last year, so many people took part that it made national news… and the constant updating of status reminded everyone why we’re doing this and helped raise awareness!Do NOT tell any males what the statuses mean…keep them guessing!! And please copy and paste (in a message) this to all your female friends.The idea is to choose the month you were born and the day you were born.Pass this on to the GIRLS ONLY and let’s see how far it reaches around. The last one about the bra went around all over the world. Your status should say “I am going to Mexico for 21 months.”The day you were born should be how many months you are gone. January – mexico February – london march – miamiapril – Dominican republic may – france june – St petersburg july – austria august – germany september – New york october – Amsterdam November – Las Vegas December – ColumbiaDo it don’t be a spoil sport and show your awareness for Breast Cancer

Get it?  Got it? Good!  Lets move on…

Jan26 005Speaking of cancer, my long locks are driving me nuts, and I can’t wait to get them chopped off at the hair dressers.  My counselor and I were discussing how in the Spring when it’s awareness time, there has to be some place I can go to donate my hair.  She gave me the number of her hair dressers to see if she knows of what’s going on for that.

Yesterday, mom, Grams, Nick and I, went to Kelly & Glen’s (old next door neighbors of ours) who recently moved into a kick ass new house.  We went for their house warming / birthday party for Kelly.  It was great to see them and the kids, minus the middle one who was at a sleep over, and get to see the new place!  Also to get lots of cuddles from Tayla their pooch whom is my love 🙂  A lot of great, yummy food, and good conversation!  So glad I went!

Jan26 002Friday, I went with Susan, my counselor, to my family doctors.  I found out I have a mild seasonal case of eczema.  Thankfully nothing like what some people I know go through, just dry skin that doesn’t want to go away easily with regular moisturizer.  I also got some medicines refilled and switched up, and got a referral to the GI here in the city, since mine are over 2 hours away by car!  Such a pain!  Speaking of pain, she gave me Tylenol 3‘s to help with the weird pain I’ve been getting, until I get my tests done and over with, and get the results back.  Kingston called about the tests too, which I won’t be getting until the middle of March.  So this will be a big help since the pain is coming more and more often.

Funny though, I have been given morphine in the hospital and been walking and having conversations fine, but when I take T3’s, I can barely get my legs to work to get a glass of water!  Hits me so much harder!  Better than going to the ER though!

Next week, I don’t think a whole lot is going on.  Amanda, Kerri and I are “supposed” to be going to see the movie Mama in theaters which looks kick ass.  And besides that, not a whole hell of a lot!

Hope you’re all doing well!

Ash,

2 thoughts on “Going to Columbia

  1. Well that explains a lot, lol! I didn’t get this one, but I rarely play along, I get all too cool for it, and refuse to participate. Besides, if I posted that I was going to Austria for 27 months I think Andreas might be let down when he finds out it’s not true 😉

    Some of the bigger salons will take the hair year-round. I know Divine Creations in Napanee always used to – I’d get it cut at a friend’s house and just give them my creepy heavy pony-tails to send away.

    Glad you had a good time at the house warming, and hopefully you have/had a good time at the movie! I haven’t heard of Mama yet. Glad you are managing to get out again, I know you’d been feeling a bit of cabin fever there not too long ago 😉 I love the painting too, very glad you’re enjoying painting again! I hope I get back into it soon.

    Eczema suuuccks. Had it as a little kid for years, then grew out of it as a teen. It recently returned with a vengeance. I had to see the doc about it on the tops of my ears a couple years ago. Still using the pot of cream she gave me because every winter I get a huge patch of eczema down my right side of my rub cage. Ugh.

    Nice you got a GI in town, when do you get to meet them? Careful with the T3’s if they have codeine in them, I’ve heard a few folks took them like candy and had a lot of trouble getting over an addiction to them. Sucks that they make you so loopy though. Hopefully the results come soon! Definitely glad you have something to help with the pain finally!

    Take care!
    ~

    • Aww ty 🙂 Painting is more just for fun for me since I’m not amazing at it… like someone I know :-p hehe. And I DO feel like I am going through cabin fever! I’m stuck at home again bc my mom’s town house hasn’t been plowed out.. so no movie yet AGAIN!

      I haven’t heard from the new GI yet. And yes, I have heard that T3’s are addictive, so I always write down when and why I take them if I do. So far only the one time 🙂 I’m not a huge fan of pain relievers even Advil, so it’ll be alright.

      My ex who get eczema, always got it on his arms, and it would look like he was burnt! Thankfully mine doesn’t. It’s more just annoying than anything.

Leave a Reply

