Two Years Two Months

12495091_10155042300794815_7558376068035675114_nZeus is being put down on Wednesday.  The last of the original babies.  He has been with me two years, two months shy of half of my life.  Almost 15 years.  I cannot imagine a moment without him.

I go to the grocery store, and I miss him lol.  How am I ever going to make it the rest of my life?  I know he’s a cat, and not a child.  I know he is better off than making him suffer.  I would never make a pet of mine suffer, but I love him, and am I going to miss him.  This is going to be the hardest pet I have ever lost.

From his first night in our home, that cat chose me.  He wasn’t even mine yet, but I was his.  And now that he has been mine for so many years, I don’t want to be without him!

I took him in yesterday for his glucose check up at the vets.  He had started to lose weight on his new diabetic diet!  But sadly his glucose went up so high, it would cost me $1000’s to get him back to normal range, if he didn’t pass from it in the mean time.  He would be there for weeks.  So I have made the decision that I can’t, and will not put him through it.

My heart is breaking.

Ash,

 

3 thoughts on “Two Years Two Months

  1. You were there for me when I lost the love of my life. I so wish I could be there in person for you. I am sending all of my biggest and hardest well wishes to you as I know exactly the pain you are feeling. Zeus will never be forgotten in your heart and he will always be with you. Love you my dear! Xo

  2. My heart is breaking for you too. I have lost my beloved Chan, he chose me, and we were a team from 1969-1986. I am thinking about you and Zeus, with a heavy heart😢💔xo

    TTFN

    >

  3. I know what Zeus means to you and wish I could do something more than letting you know I am here for you and will keep you and Zeus in my heart ❤️

Leave a Reply

